Miss Alexandrina

The thinking-space of a not-quite novelist

Ready. Set. Write! Update 7/7

11 Comments

Ready. Set. WRITE! is a summer writing intensive that encourages goal-setting and accountability, and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on wherever we’re at in our writing—planning, drafting, revising, or polishing. This year, your hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman.

This week’s been interesting and I’m not sure if I’m actually making progress.

Goals from this week:

1. Stop watching so many Steam Powered Giraffe live videos. Working on it. ;)

2. CAMPNANOWRIMO. Yes, it deserved capslock. I’m going to be moving back home this week, so I don’t expect as much to be written, but I am hoping to do at least 1K a day. This week I wrote about nine thousand words, and got to chapter five…but there’s a long way to go.

3. July WTCB query batch. Waiting on a CP, then I’ll deal with this.

sshot1

My current page…

My goals for this week:

1. CampNaNo – write about 10 – 20K, so I reach the 25K mark, past the quarter mark.

3. Do small character bios? I’d like to know what interesting or unusual hobbies my characters have, but it doesn’t matter if this is never done.

4. July query batch.

A favourite line paragraph [because I can] from my project.

She spun, shielding the oriental vase from her bustle with the sweep of her hand.

Jules offered her the day’s paper. In her fury, she’d failed to pick one up. “You might try flying with an independent captain. They may be unlicensed and of not the freer airways, but the cost will allow a greater distance of travel. In case my brother has arbitrarily sent himself across the unknown precincts of the Americas. That is all I can give you.”

Jules kind of has a Lord Gillingham (from Downton Abbey) appearance to him

The biggest challenge I faced this week.

I’m worried I’m not including enough setting description. I’m just getting stumped on imaginative description at the moment.

Something I love about my WiP. 

I’m amused at how much I’ve managed to make the dirigible flights like modern-day air-travel. In chapter three, the MC’s governess/companion asks whether she should check to see if the dirigible has arrived – reminding me of an arrivals board!

I also found out that my MC is an ornithophile (bird-lover), which makes sense since she also enjoys flying. I love the interaction between her and the carrier pigeons.

Author: Alexandrina Brant

Writer with passions for puzzle-solving, singing, acting and Ancient culture. Semi-fluent in Latin, passable at Ancient Greek with roaming interests in astronomy and wine. When I'm not working on the Time, Stopped Trilogy, I'm playing Quidditch.

11 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! Update 7/7

  1. It can be hard to decide how much vs. how little setting description to include. I personally don’t like books with way too much description, in the old-fashioned Victorian style of overdescribing every little thing, but not having any description can make the book feel sterile. I like to include just enough to establish a basic mental image, and let the reader use his or her own imagination to conjure up the rest.

    • Yeah, and sadly we can never please everyone. I’m actually a big fan of description when reading, but I kind of do the opposite when writing – I possibly overcompensate for the readers and try and keep my descriptions down when writing first drafts. Urg, yeah, balance is difficult.

  2. Good luck with your goals :) I know how you feel about description, I tend to forget a reader doesn’t know what the setting looks like when I do!

    • Exactly! I have quite a strong visual imagination, so I always see my scenes as if I was watching them unfold, but then when it comes to turning them into written descriptions… *sigh*
      Thanks for the good luck :)

  3. Ooo, another historical! Sounds intriguing–which time period is it set in? I agree about descriptions–I can be terse in my writing sometimes, too, and then I have to go back and flesh it out. But that’s what editing’s for :). Hope you have a productive week!

  4. “I also found out that my MC is an ornithophile (bird-lover), which makes sense since she also enjoys flying. I love the interaction between her and the carrier pigeons.” <– So, all of that makes me want to read this WiP immediately. Sounds so cool! Best of luck with it, Alexandrina!

  5. I love your goal of writing character bios! It’s such a good way to get to know your characters, I think :) I might have to do some of my own this week…

  6. Description is my weakness. It’s something I always work in more on second draft. And I love writing character bios! Good luck this week!

Thoughts, comments, replies...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers