A Little Bit of Sunshine [Award] In My Life

I have been awarded the ‘sunshine award’ by That Fantasy Blog. Yay, for both of us! Thank you 🙂  

 

 

 

 

 

Rules of The Award

  1. Include the award logo in the post.
  2. Link back and thank the one that nominated you.
  3. Answer 10 random questions.
  4. Nominate 5 other bloggers and link them to the award in their comments.

Okay, ten random questions, from Google and also some from the other Sunshine awards I’ve seen.

1. Do you prefer ebooks, paperbacks or hardback?

It’s a controversial question in terms of current climate, is it not? I’ll begin by stating that I do not have a Kindle, but that I am certainly not adverse to reading from one. I don’t know many people with Kindles and that’s the problem. A device has to be bought in order for the books to be bought and it brings the requirement of internet (not something that’s great in my house) and complexity with it. I like the idea of Kindle and ebooks, but I would only have the device if someone bought it for me.

For me, physical books still win. Paperback have that ‘portable’ quality and aren’t so heavy, but I do love the feeling of reading from a hardback, possibly because the book can sit open without flapping shut. There’s something powerful, I’ll admit, in the hardback, and though more expensive, I love displaying them.

2) Grab the book nearest to you, turn to page 18, and find line 4.
“cupboards and book-shelves: here and there she saw maps and pictures” Alice in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll

3) What is the last film you saw?
I am very much assuming this is implying ‘in the cinema’. Oh, and the answer to that would be ‘Dark Shadows’ a comedy by director Tim Burton and starring (typically) Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham-Carter and Michelle Pfeiffer. One of my closest friends couldn’t make it to my birthday party, so she treated me to the film instead.

Although there were bits, like the end, that I found predictable, I will say that it was a good film, with an interesting plot and moments of good reveal. However, I wouldn’t really watch it again, except for the gags.

4. Have you ever written (or started to write) a book?

Oohoo *chuckles*, anyone who knows me will be able to answer this one. I’m known for having a notebook up my sleeve, or an idea in my head. The phrase ‘that reminds me of something I’m writing…’ crops up in my dialogue far too often.

I think it’s fair to start with ‘Of Jackets and Phones’, the novella that I began in the last month of my thirteenth year and finished just before Christmas of that year. It was, frankly, rubbish. But the idea generated more ideas, leading to a collection of various novels that I write, including the sequel to OJAP.

I intend to computerize a table that I had once written in the back of one of my notebooks of the progress of my pieces.  I might put it on the blog just for reference.

However, at the moment, I am still polishing off my longest novel, ‘When The Clock Broke…’ a romance with science-fiction elements that stands at 70thousand words. It’s my favourite of my own books for its longevity, though Agnetha from OJAP wins for being the most dynamic character. For those who read the short story in ‘Scream For Charity’, Genevra was based on Agnetha. I typed ‘Agnetha King Trilogy’ into Google and was happily surprised to find links to my blog and Protagonize chapters as the first of the search.

5) What are your three favourite songs?

Ooh, that’s difficult because I have so much interest in music, and it does change depending on my mood or the time of the year.  

I have to mention Michael Bublé, because of his take on Jazz and Jazz-Fusion. A favourite of his songs may have to be ‘Hollywood’, a reflection of the superficial aspects of modern-day celebrism and the search for perfection or desire in society.

Often when I’m in a bad mood, you’ll hear a lot more rock coming from my headphones; thus, I choose ‘Misery Business’ by Paramore, due to its upbeat rhythm/tempo and optimistic feel within a rock context. Plus the chords are pretty easy and I can play the song acoustically 😉

Lastly, ‘As Good As New’ by ABBA has always been one of my favourite songs, even when I go through phases of scorning the band and light music. Full of disco and bubblegum-pop, this is a classic that was not considered one of ABBA’s better songs at the time, but one that can still be relevant, with its music style, today.

6) Do you like to dance?

I allowed myself to put in this random question because of what it might say about me. It seems a simple enough question. Yes, I do like to dance. “Do you dance?” Um, no actually, I just think about dancing. The fair truth is that I cannot dance particularly well, in spite of being the captain of the Country Dancing (!) squad in my final year at Primary School. Okay, I was eleven. I haven’t done much dancing since then. There was the Ceroc (which I have now all but forgotten, with much sadness to that fact) and then the Ceilidh, my favourite of the lot. And crazy dancing that I would not show anybody in public, let alone tell you about on my blog!

So, no, I don’t dance on a regular basis, despite how I would very much like to. In my opinion, I spend too much time writing. *continues poem*

7 )What do most people not know about you?

It’s surprising how many people I talk to away from the internet who don’t know I ice-skate. I’ve ice-skated for almost as long as I’ve been writing (okay, four years; it’s not that long), and yet if I complain about an injury or mention a conversation I’ve had with friends on the rink, the recipient simply looks at me with a curious expression.

“You ice-skate?” is often what follows.

So, yes, I ice-skate. The inch-diametre, circular shaped scar on my left leg is from ice-skating, as is often the many bruises on my knees. Nevertheless, I do like to announce that I’m on Gold Star Level 😉

8) What kind of books do you like to read?
Everything, haha! I’m writing this in a library, so that’s a good sign already. Okay, I guess I’m drawn most to the Murder Mystery Cosy genre, not only due to my upbringing of actor David Suchet as Poirot, but also because my own Mysteries Trilogy (featuring the tough-but-lonely teen Agnetha King) was the first taste I had at writing.

Despite this, however, I would not say no to sci-fi (I’m a geek who watches Star Trek!) or fantasy, or even something involving realistic drama. I don’t tend to select straight romances, but I do enjoy reading romance scenes, though they do say writers have overactive imaginations…

9. Where do you see yourself in five years?

My heart might be broken, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t still dream of seeing myself as a mother and wife, as well as an academic. Psychology- as well as Philosophy- fascinates me, but I worry that ‘typical’ jobs, regular jobs are going to be of no interest to me. That’s why I like to see myself as a published writer by then, hopefully acting and/or singing alongside that!

10. Is the glass half empty or half full?

Ooh, depends what sort of glass it is. I’m a Philosopher, not a Mathematician, a chancer, not a person who believes a great deal in luck. The glass is whatever it is. If it looks slightly under-filled, I’ll remark that it might be half empty. If the glass looks like no one has drunk from it, it’s probably half full. Now what the glass is filled with is a better question…

Oh, and if you’re asking me whether I’m an optimism or pessimist, I’ll finish with; an optimist, albeit one with a depression. It’s kind of annoying when one wants to be moody, but there’s a little voice in the bad of one’s head saying ‘you know, it’s going to be okay’, or creating new scenarios where things turn out for the better. I’m an escapist.

Alexandrina 🙂

My word of the week: ‘perpetual’. I just love the way it can be used and the ringing of its sound, especially in poetry.

I am tagging:

Yawatta Hosby

UponAtlas

Brilliantlynovel

DamyantiWrites

2 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Sunshine [Award] In My Life

  1. Wow, I never noticed you nominated me for the Sunshine Award! Thanks! I’ll work on those questions, and post my responds sometime this week. I suppose it’s never too late LOL.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    P.S. I found this post by googling myself hee hee.

Thoughts, comments, replies...

