Gnomicon 120

(I realise that I should probably post more often. I’m working on several different posts at the moment, a couple on writing, a couple on quirks and Psychology. Chill.)
Though I have been following for a while, I have only really recent actually started reading laohtiger’s posts in detail. They are a mixture of the observant and the philosophic, with a hint of the quirky as an addition. The language used in the posts, as well as being inspiring, is of the quality expected of professionals, hinting at a well-read soul behind the screen-shade. It is, in a way, the kind of language that I can relate to, that which one day I will thrive upon.
The Gnomica are meant to set people thinking- and these posts certainly have done that with me.
This particular post, about perfection, itself has its ἀρετή, to entertain, to teach, to observe the world with the eyes of a lover of wisdom. This is why it pleases me so much to reblog it. Well done, laohtiger. 🙂

laohutiger

If you have not already done so, you may wish to read the
Introduction to Gnomica.

Gnomicon  120
Thursday 6 September 2012

Read gnomica 1-100 here!

101     102     103     104     105     106     107     108     109     110     111     112     113     114     115     116     117     118     119

In nature, nothing is perfect and everything is perfect.
Trees can be contorted, bent in weird ways, and they’re still beautiful.
Alice Walker (9 Feb 1944 – )

I think I see what this winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction (for The Color Purple [1982] in 1983) is getting at here.  At any rate, the comment starts me on a mental walkabout in antiquity – and I hope she comes along!

What is perfection – aside from being, as the saw goes, the…

View original post 411 more words

One thought on “Gnomicon 120

Thoughts, comments, replies...

