Light and Falling Love

Some new poetry has been coming to me recently:

 

~

Snuff out the effervescing candle,

Not for our squalid sake and secrecy,

But for the darkness to hide a stolen

Kiss, a secret coax of mankind.

Beware, though, when you take away

That obvious mystery of our hearts;

It must be remembered that I thrive

On able lights, wherever they are gleaming;

My functionality is broken

When the sides of my conscience snap,

So used to analytical energies,

And overexposed to darkness unrefined.

I am asking of a deed too difficult:

Do not click off the light-box,

Sunlight’s beams still should rise,

Taken and stolen now and once further.

Such pressed illumination

Begins to scar my retina;

And a headache draws in every

Single fallen sight.

My frustration is my blood raw,

Lapping at the second electric union

That evolves from our singular

Relationship of ice and fire,

Glass to cut through the waxen

Shades of my fated face. Again:

All happiness is bred to burn,

When two knowing beams collide, touch

In the darkness where I had once dwelled,

The selfish certainty I knew

Was not love. Now the air

Is being lit with more potential;

And is lifted up – but it will fall

If you dare take away your source.

Yet, eventually, we know

Our cause will double back into

Its boiling wax, now cold enough;

We will burn ourselves out, eventually.

~

2 thoughts on “Light and Falling Love

  1. Pingback: Without A Word – A Passionate Romantic Monday Post | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: I’M SORRY TOO – A ROMANTIC MONDAY POST « hastywords

Thoughts, comments, replies...

