Happy 1st Birthday, Blog!

My baby is growing up… Haha, it feels weird to think that, this time last year, I was staring at the blank screen that was the ‘Miss Alexandrina’ blog and thinking “I have no idea what to write about”. I knew I wanted a dark-but-not-too-much background and a header with my ‘tools of the trade’: headphones, drumsticks, theatre ticket and notepad. Apart from that, the idea of a blog mystified me. What does one ‘blog’ about? What is the most important thing about which one must post on a regular – if not frequent – basis?

The utter notion of talking to an invisible audience baffled me.

However, my blog, she has grown and evolved, especially over the latter half of 2012. Why? Because I experience some things and had some ideas that were worth blogging about (possibly).

Well, 2012 was naff. I’ll admit, it wasn’t a great year. My beloved cat died, my best friend moved away, I failed an exam (something I’ve not done before), I missed out of several of my goals. Yeah, I could probably be picky and string the list out, but I don’t want to seem like I’m moaning. Obviously, it’s more complicated than that. It’s just that I have been troubled.

An Italian sunset.
An Italian sunset.

Out of that, though, there were some memorable events of my 2012 year: I went to Italy, and I participated in West Side Story, the first performance of RicNic Oxford. I got my first Critique Partner, who has aided my work invaluably.

Let’s look at a little summary of what went on in my blog this year:

> I started applying my knowledge of Psychology and Philosophy to ways of writing. From this I devised the idea of the Writer Phenomenon, that our unconscious and subconscious thoughts play a major role in the first draft of writing.

> I rambled on about Sims, then started applying my photography and creation knowledge to providing pictures of my characters in Sims form.

> I introduced the world to my editing plan and promptly failed when school got in the way.

I also supported a few charities...
I also supported a few charities…

I talked about Poirot twice and Holmes three times, whilst producing two Doctor Who/time-related posts, one of which became my most-viewed post: (I’m not gonna call it) The Next Big Thing – which meant I had to hunt around for pictures of actors whom I would cast were ‘When The Clock Broke…‘ turned into a movie. That was fun and it helped me visually see a young Alex Kingston in the place of Aidelle.

As an early Christmas present, I also passed my Gold Star ice-skating rank
As an early Christmas present, I also passed my Gold Star ice-skating rank

Things I should do this year:
> Change the blog theme
> Edit my ‘About’ page
> Finish editing When The Clock Broke…
> Continue rewriting OJAP
> Get an A* in at least one of my A Level three
> Finish the first draft of Triangle

That should be enough to keep me on my toes, as well as the list of many other things I have condensed in my head. Here’s hoping 2013 will be full of good fortune.

Oh, and in case you wondered, my word of the week is TO-TAL-ITY, from the Latin ‘tot’, meaning entire.

7 thoughts on “Happy 1st Birthday, Blog!

  1. Happy Birthday Blog! It’s odd, but it seems like a lot of us writer buddies all started blogging about a year ago. (My one year is in March). Glad you decided to start blogging either way. 😀 May 2013 truly be full of fortune for us all!

  2. Congratulations on blogging for a year! It’s cool that you’ve been to Italy. I’ve always wanted to go (I HAVE to visit the homeland of pizza LOL). It’s all good if you didn’t reach all your goals yet. Writing’s not a race 🙂 As long as you’re going at the pace that works for you, then you’re good.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    1. Tehe. Italy’s beautiful, but I didn’t actually have that much pizza! *gasp* xD What I love about travelling is all the new sights, sounds and smells. I’m going to New York in two weeks – and very excited, since it will be my second time in America!
      Hmm, sometimes I think that I could up my pace – I got through massive peaks and troughs, which don’t help my concentration or self esteem.

      🙂 Alex

Thoughts, comments, replies...

