Life Goes On

DonLotharioMoney AlexSims

The reason I blog about Sims so much is because, well, I go on the game so much. It’s such a great, relaxing pastime for me. Because of my many hours playing, I have developed a prescience of what is going to happen. I can predict (mostly) when a Sim will die of old age or for how long I need to stay on their house to fulfil the rota for game-play (yes I have a rota! Call me a nerd and I will nod).

As such I am able to play Sims with my headphones in so that my ears are working with the game – and I am able to pop in to control it if necessary – whilst my hands, eyes and, for the most part, mind are working on a piece of writing; some of my best editing has been done when playing the Sims…as strange as that sounds!

 

Kaylynn Lothario, nee Langerak, meets the Grim Reaper on her way to Platinum paradise

Kaylynn Lothario, nee Langerak, meets the Grim Reaper on her way to Platinum paradise

It may be an odd thing to say, but the Sims are just as much a part of me as writing is – as such, I treat them equally. As such, I pull a sad face when it’s time for someone I have ‘known’ for so long to die. All those memories, all those aspiration points and various many achievements (even the little things that make up personal achievements) – gone.One line of codex gone, and yet, each loss is poignant to me. When I find interpersonal interaction hard, I can retreat to the community on Sims.

It’s not about the control – though control is an important factor of the rest of my life; it’s about the life, the application and passing of time that leads to young figures growing old and bringing up their own children, the new generation of persons who live, work, love and fall.

In a way, despite its differences, Sims is very much like real life.

Kaylynn’s daughter, Charlotte, was recently blessed with her own baby, Clarissa

Kaylynn’s daughter, Charlotte, was recently blessed with her own baby, Clarissa

So, that’s why I like Sims. True, it’s not life, but there are living things, and these things are people enough in my own mind.

Her husband, Don Lothario, mourns

Her husband, Don Lothario, mourns

Nevertheless, life goes on for the Sims. As does my own life, away from them. Still, it saddens me to think that, when I depart for university, I will be saying goodbye to the families and their stories forever.

2 thoughts on “Life Goes On

Thoughts, comments, replies...

