My Writing Space

Inspired by Jae’s original post about the perfect spot for writing. I put a couple of tweaks on the original sense of the post, since I already work in one of the best places for writing – because I know it well. That’s not to say I wouldn’t like the book-filled order of, say, the Costello’s library, but I know that’s never going to be a reality.

I’ll shelf it to exist in my novels, for the moment.

Look at it. I would have said it’s uninviting, but I had angled the chair well then. I miss that chair. It broke, as swivel chairs often do. I was probably playing around too much. This, including the new chair, could be a plain place, but I prefer my desks free of clutter. That comes from my obsessive nature.

Alex's Study

Because I’ve lived in rented houses my entire life (and thus have never been allowed to attach things to the walls), I’ve never been surrounded by utmost decor and individualism. That’s not to say I’ve never tried. Let’s continue looking at my study.

I know one of the items I first notice in the picture is the Roman Mysteries poster. I met author Caroline Lawrence when I was twelve and she was one of the people who inspired me both to write and to study classical culture. Mysteries and Romans. It’s a great mix and the series is so well done.

My scientific side intervenes when one spots that I have a periodic table of elements pinned to the adjacent side of the box. I used to memorise the elements for Chemistry. I think I would get as far as 23 before I choked. Nowadays, the list is more like ten. Along with the square-root of Pi…. Call that a habit.

And yes, I store the removable Christmas tree there. With such a small house, there’s nowhere else, really, to put it.

So, there you have it: my workplace and where I spend most of my time when I’m not at school. As my laptop has no internet connection, most of my blogging, uploading, creating and Sim-ing happens here. Hence, my own little ‘perfect’ space. It’s not, but I wouldn’t ask for a change.

4 thoughts on “My Writing Space

  1. I realized I was not working in an ergonomically correct environment (sideways in a large cushy arm chair), so I got myself a desk, set it up with decorations nearby and plenty of light/power, and…I’m still working in that chair. The desk is now used to store my clean laundry after it’s folded when I’m too lazy to put it away. Kind of a waste, now that I think about it. Maybe I’ll be inspired to make a change – thanks for the post! 🙂

    1. Hehe, maybe that chair is just an inspiration-port. Sometimes, I find I can’t write well in another place to the one I have grown used to. I think it’s a predicate of the writer that we find ourselves sitting on chairs the wrong way around and back to front! And no desk is ever a waste, even if it is just to put laundry on!

      1. Heh heh…I like the way you think. 🙂 I’ll be sure to tell my husband that the next time he complains about my work habits. The words “inspiration-port” should get him off my back for a bit, I think. 😉

Thoughts, comments, replies...

