Best Moment Award

Awarding the people who live in the moment,
The noble who write and capture the best in life,
The bold who reminded us what really mattered –
Savoring the experience of quality time.

Best-Moment-Award

There’s nothing that says what makes a blog great. It has no official ‘way’; to say so would be kidding the voters, the vox populi. I don’t believe in formulae, except of the chemical kind.

When I started this blog, just over a year ago now, it was at a writing partner’s request. I had no idea what I was going to post about or say. And, to be frank, I still have no clue.

But that’s like life, isn’t it? We’re all bumbling along, waiting for the next hurdle, because that’s all we can do; preempting an act only works a third of the time. In the same way, I take each day as it comes on my blog – each piece of inspiration as it arrives, both through my emotional instability and the eclectic nature of my thoughts.

Imagine my surprise, then, to be awarded the ‘Best Moment’ Award from the folks at momentmatters.com, about being in the moment and existing beyond it. It was for this post – surprisingly popular – about what I might do to gain inspiration for my writing, be that of blog or novel.

Just as there is nothing that can make a blog, there is nothing that can, specifically, make an acceptance speech. I blog the (slightly altered) madness that pours from my mind, so it is only fair that this ‘acceptance speech’ should be just as rewarding in its rhythmic babble.

This is my own and I’d like to thank all of my readers who have kept with me up to this point, especially Jae and the Mystic Cooking ladies.

As a side-note, I don’t thank people enough, but I thank the same people too often. As such, if you are reading this, quicumque sunt – whoever you are – thank you. It’s enough that you’re here: a name once typed on a blog online can never mean greater than the thought of my words being absorbed.

 

The Rules

1. Create an acceptance speech, either by Video (to do a video post would have been fun, but I get really self-conscious knowing my own camera is pointed my way) or a written speech post.

2. Pass the award onto 15 other bloggers and their posts.

 

And now for my own nominees! I’ve tried to pick posts that I feel are deep and meaningful or greatly informative or that have helped me – because that’s what I feel being in the moment is about.

1. Brian Taylor for ‘Is the End really the End?

2. AMB for ‘A Controversial Parenting Decision: Separating Twins

3. Jae Dansie for ‘Happy Ever After?

4. A Mind Divided for ‘Where Everything is Music

5. Mystic Cooking for ‘First Love

6. Bipolar Muse for ‘Emotional Intelligence: Practise It

7. Chris Martin for ‘Join Our Family (One7)

8. Musings From Neville’s Navel for ‘Dual-Enrolment and High School Homeschoolers

9. The Loony Teen Writer for ‘The Dreaded Info-Dump’

10. Nicole Helm for ‘Two Weeks in the Books’

11. Miriam Joy for ‘E-books and Print Books: The Apocalyptic Showdown

12. Laohutiger for ‘Gnomicon 278

13. Erin Long for ‘Do Used Ebooks Spell Doom for Indie Writers?

14. Katy Upperman for ‘One Word Wednesday #14

15. Yawatta Hosby for ‘Running a Marathon, Not a Sprint

12 thoughts on “Best Moment Award

  1. “deep and meaningful or greatly informative” ….
    …. REALLY? No, like, REALLY? My rambly brain splat about vampires and Kindles was deep and meaningful?

    Thanks, though. But I do query your word choice there.

    1. Haha 😛 Well, even if the piece I selected wasn’t your deepest, I know you have produced many deep posts in the past. No, REALLY, I thought it was a very – ‘thinkful’ if not thoughtful – post; you have a way of weighing up pros and cons of even random subjects, such as whether kindle or print books would be better during the Apocalypse. I think it’s more the depth and arrangement of your posts that I like.
      And I didn’t think it was rambly OR a brain splat. My brain splats are about half the size!
      I rest my case.

  2. Thank you so much for the award (and congratulations to you!). I’ve been under the weather this week and didn’t have an opportunity to respond earlier. I’m looking forward to checking out the other nominees.

  3. Thanks for the nomination Miss Alexandrina! I’ll work on my blog post soon. I have internet at home again YEA lol!!!

    I keep telling myself that it’s about quality instead of quantity. It helps me not be frustrated that I don’t have anything published yet.

    It’s cool that your writing partner asked you to start this blog. Isn’t it cool how people help us even though they don’t realize how much it’ll make an impact 🙂

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    1. You’re welcome. It must be great to have internet again 😀

      Yeah, I should get into that mindset more often. I’m always frustrated that I’m not published yet. However, I’m glad that I wasn’t published when I first wanted to be because my writing has improved so much since then, and it’s been a great experience to remember quality.

      Yes! I always think how strange it is that we don’t know what chain of events can come about by saying ‘yes’ to something. I remember I was on a collaborative writing site in one the group-topics there when someone posted that someone was trying to get short thriller/mystery stories together for a charity ebook. Having a draft of a mystery story, I thought ‘why not?’ and sent it in. After the whole project, I remember them saying ‘you should write a blog’, and me replying ‘I have no idea what I’d write about’. Haha! But here I am.

Thoughts, comments, replies...

