Shiny, Inspirationally Bloggy [Award]

Ya, that was a bit of a strange title. ‘Shiny’ is one of my favourite words, purely for its morphemic value: shy-knee – almost. 😛

Anyways, Avery Thorne of BloodOverIthaca nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Thanks, dude! I love talking about myself 😛 You can see the rest of the awards I have amalgamated under the ‘Blog Awards’ link in the sidebar-menu.

very-inspirational-blogger11

The Rules:

1. Display the Award Certificate on your website
2. Announce your win with a post and link to whoever presented your award
3. Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers
4. Drop them a comment to tip them off after you’ve linked them in the post
5. Post 7 interesting things about yourself.

And now for the next set of seven points. Hang on… *thinks*

1. I like to string together strange sentences that prove I can use general linguistics skills. I was particular proud at remembering during a school-House competition that πλοῦτος is Greek for ‘wealth’ – hence ‘plutocracy’. Once I stop learning Latin as a subject, I intend to continue linguistic exploration to prove that I have not lost the skill entirely.

2. I use to wear insoles constantly. Before I started skating, I had incredibly weak ankles caused by no specific problem, a combination of environmental growth and genetic issues. I can still make them click on cue.

3. I am right-handed, eared and balanced, but left-sighted and footed.  There are numerous tests one can take to find out (Google?), but sometimes you just know. I’ve always been better at balancing on my right foot and I automatically cover my left ear when I’m trying to tune to pitch – however, I find it naturally easier (and it’s said that most right-handers and left-footed) to spin and jump off my left foot, and this provides some issues now that I have started combining the balance and spin/jump exercises.

4. I simultaneously love and hate my front teeth. I guess you could say I’m buck-toothed, and my front two are angled outwards like a softer version of: / \  I was never allowed corrective orthodontics because I still have half my baby teeth.

5. People say I’m an extrovert, but I’m actually, internally incredibly shy. I couldn’t meet people when I was little. I’d just hide behind my parents. I still can’t answer the door or pick up the phone if I don’t know who it is. I attribute this to my anxiety, especially as I get really anxious in big crowds. I’m working on my confidence, but I reckon this is why I get so nervous before doing what I love: performing.

6. I seem to be doomed to use out-dated browsers. My family computer was out-dated before I started using it – now it is ancient compared to the laptops and goodies my friends have. I still use my dad’s laptop – without internet. I am proud of not falling for every new product, though.

7. Looking after nature means everything is treasure.  I am a collector. I can’t help it – I still have little toys from my childhood. I guess I mention this point because I’ve chosen my halls for next year. By the 9th May, it will be booked for when I get my results. Thus, I am currently trying to ‘spring clear’ all the clutter in my drawers; I have to learn that one day, for instance, if I marry, I will not be able to keep these things. Nevertheless, I have this inability to throw/give away things that I might one day use. The month I let my mother clear away my long white socks, I had to act Alice. See, bad idea.

 

My new home...
My new home…

Now for the nominees! (I’m gonna do ten, otherwise the long tendrils of blog-connections won’t stretch enough) *party popper*

Jae because she’s always interesting, even when interviewing other people. Check out her April’s Featured Blog posts this month.

Mystic Cooking Ladies – intelligent discussion of writing and drawing life.

Avonlea Writera teen writer with an eye for steampunk and traditional stuff like me!

The Looney Teen Writer – concise, effective posts about writing and the world…even if they are a little mad!

Box of Thoughts it’s one of those moments where you find out a real-life friend has had a blog all along. Good, real stuff.

Charley Robson – I don’t care if you’ve had the award before, you inspire me with your strange bopping and emails. xD

UponAtlas Again, you’ve probably had the award before, but you were the first commenter on here and that gets cookies.

Storytelling Nomadfantasy writing, travel and awesomeness.

NevilleGirlblogging for much longer than me, but the posts on writing, reading, homeschooler and random are still fresh.

Yawatta Hosby releasing debut novel soon; her journey to publication is fascinating to read about.

I can't believe I still have many, many soft toys...
I can’t believe I still have many, many soft toys…
14 thoughts on “Shiny, Inspirationally Bloggy [Award]

  1. Congratulations! I can relate to #5. I’m a very shy person, except in small groups and when I’m familiar with the people. I was also a performer for many years (voice), and the legal field requires a certain amount of performance, too (oral argument, presentations, etc). The performance isn’t the problem, but my anxiety leading up to it is awful.

  2. Aww, thanks for the blog love! Totally made my Friday! 🙂

    I can also relate to #5. I’m usually alright at faking it, but I’m definitely anxious around large groups of people, and I almost never answer my phone unless I know who is calling. Even if I know who is calling, a lot of times I’ll let it go to voice mail so I can see what they’re calling about first…it’s awful, I know.

  3. Thanks Miss Alexandrina!!!

    Taking that right/left test sounds cool. I love figuring out mysteries about myself. And, I hate my teeth too–I hate my gap. The Hosby Gap we like to call it LOL.

    It sounds like you have a great personality. It’s pretty cool that people think you’re extroverted instead of shy.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    P.S. I’ll work on the post sometime next week 🙂

  4. Aw, thank you! That was such a nice thing to wake up to! 🙂

    I get the anxiety thing. Even though I act too, I’m shy, and when I was younger I was really, really shy. Phone conversations with unknown people are not my favorite.

    I also get the collector thing. I have every single one of my American Girl dolls, and they are still displayed. I can’t bear to pack them away in boxes.

    1. Hehe, you’re welcome!

      I wish we got American Girl over here. Those dolls are so cute! I don’t know what it is about things like that – but it’s just so difficult to rid myself of them!

Thoughts, comments, replies...

