Character Flowers: Rion

It’s still May (for one more day!), and, although I never said it would finish with May, that means it’s time for the characters as flowers segment!

Seeing as villainy and tight editing have been the themes of this week, I thought I’d turn my eye to a quick analysis of Rion.

“Rion, please! Would you give me one reason –?”

“That of a bad influence for being a lower-class subordinate. Those sorts of women are for nothing more than fun. What do you expect from a marriage like that? She possesses no beauty and tends the soft and saccharine. ‘Oh, Phillip!’” (Chapter two)Tower of Rubies

Because of his instantly cruel exterior, I started looking at thorned vines and capture-plants, such as the Venus Fly Trap. I was going to allocate a snatching, creeping plant, like the Ivy, for the antagonist who will take over the scene any moment.

However, with certain fellow authors in mind, I wanted to dig deeper into why Rion likes to be cruel and find chaos in manipulation. In March, I hinted at an idea of lost love with which I was testing the waters, and a possible reason why Rion heaps his jealous blame on Phillip.

“You with your righteous ideas! Father will not find out, and you will not tell him, Phillip. No.”

“I simply don’t understand the compatibility of…like parts,” Phillip protested.

(Inexplicable Time-Travel vignette; WTCB3)

It’s fair enough to say that Rion has a secret. I knew I didn’t want the dreadfully beautiful, exotic creations of nature. I wanted a flower with meaning and sadness.

So, what sort of flower is sharp on the outside, but possessing of a different inside – beyond that of Aidelle’s Orchid, that is? Google time!

Rion is a Hyacinth. Sharp-dressed, tall, trying to outdo each and every other flower in the garden for the sake of the gardener’s eye. I like the Hyacinth for Rion because its budding flowers look like they are hiding something more, the way a sneak keeps his burnt hands in his pockets. They are also pretty unassuming, but still have a subtle beauty to them – in this way, one could suggest that Rion has ‘beauty’ or a good mind on the inside.

Flower-Stock-Photo-7I toyed with a few colours of the Hyacinth. As you can see, blue stands out to be the most prominent for me. The purple was too softly-hued, and the white, whilst suggesting a false sense of innocence to make the trickster, just didn’t sit right in my mind. Whilst I don’t want to coat Rion in a black flower, I would say that, if he had a favourite colour, it would probably be brown, or navy, or ruddy green – all of which are the ground around the flower, rather than the show itself!

So, blue? Blue for depression, for passing, for that edge between right and wrong.

Hyacinths should also not be confused with the genus Muscari, which are commonly known as grape hyacinths. (Wikipedia; the picture below is a Grape Hyacinth plant: the buds are more enclosed)

Hyacinths are poisonous! More poisonous than the other flowers I have for characters. Wikipedia recommends gloves for handling – and I’ll reiterate that: handle this man with care. Irritate him and he’ll rape your former lover. True story. (Well, no: fiction, but a true story where the character is concerned 😉 )

4527545453_15991bd216

In terms of mythology and meaning, there is a Greek tale with ‘Hyacinth’ the object of two gods’ affections, dear Apollo of music, poetry and prophecies, and Zephyrus. Perhaps contrary to modern expectation (the Hyacinth conjures flowing hair and flirtatious female eyes, personally), this Hyacinth was a man. When Hyacinth’s beauty ultimately caused his own death due to the love triangle, Apollo kept Hyacinth’s memory alive by making him into the flower (as is the Metamorphosis).

And, if Rion had taken the time to read the myth, I know with whom he would be associating the deceased youth. It’s a bitter and ironic use of the blue flower, I suppose. 😉

The Death of Hyacinthos by Jean Broc

‘The Death of Hyacinthos’ by Jean Broc

Thoughts, comments, replies...

