Pitcharama Post!

The lovely people at Aussie Owned and Read are hosting a Pitcharama. I’m still building my query up and knocking it down, so I thought this would be good for me on the polishing-and-sense side.

Manuscript Title: When the Clock Broke

Author: Alexandrina Brant

Age group: NA

Genre: Fantasy romance

Word count: 82,000

250 word blurb:

When twenty-year-old Aidelle’s fiancé slams the door on their relationship, neither expects the act to seal her in another reality. Nor does Aidelle plan on coming face to face with a girl who claims to be her granddaughter from one possible future.

And yet, in the space of one ‘day’, her present has been frozen out of time. She can’t leave her own home, lest she face a city forever unmoving, and she certainly can’t apologise to her fiancé for throwing a timepiece at him. With her ‘granddaughter’ instructing her in the art of mechanics, Aidelle tries to fix the clock. But time, with all its bumps and eddies, doesn’t play fair.

In the midst of a temporal fissure, Aidelle catches a glimpse of her fiancé. His heart still seeks her, even from a war-torn future where their home is nothing but a bombed ruin. Fingertips touching, they are years apart. As the fissure collapses, Aidelle is more alone than ever.

At the hesitant advice of her granddaughter, Aidelle must risk her life entering the stilled city to mend the time-streams – and fix her heart. If she doesn’t hurry, she’ll be stuck in the half-reality of tea and stormy weather for a non-existent eternity. If she doesn’t rewind time – and, in the process, win back the man she adores – they could both cease to exist.

17 thoughts on “Pitcharama Post!

  1. This plot sounds very intriguing.

    One question: with “expects the act to seal her in another reality”
    did you mean “to SEND her in another reality”?

    Loved the line “fingertips touching, they are years apart” — very heart-wrenching!

    Best of luck!

  2. Seems pretty good to me! 😀 Is that the entire query, or just the book summary? Usually there’s the author information and ‘why I chose you’ stuff as well.

    1. Mmm, pitcharama asked for a ‘blurb’ so I wasn’t sure if they meant whole query. Blurb gives me more experimentation space, so I risked it. Obviously, this isn’t my whole query. My actual one is pretty different, but this has helped a lot with rethinking what I need to put.

      I hate queries. The main problem is that I’ve been told it doesn’t make sense.

      1. The queries don’t make sense? Hmm, I can see why you’d say that. I wrote queries a year ago and trying to fit everything in was awful. I mean, you have to put on this specific tone and describe your novel in just the right way, and everything ends up complicated and confused.

        The worst, however, are summaries. Dear god, a 1-page summary of one’s book is hell to write.

    1. Thank you! At first I just went for it, but, in editing, I had those moments of ‘why did I choose time-travel??’ It was only when I started the sequel a few months ago, that I, as you say, kept track of my characters – literally. I now have a time-line spanning a whole millenium!

  3. I’m back to say “we’re on the same team!”
    GO TEAM KA LAST!
    About the “send” vs. “seal” issue, my mind kept changing it back to “send”. I’d ask other people so you get more than just my opinion. Ask our coach–she was very helpful to me with my query!

  4. I totally got what you meat with ‘seal’. Welcome to my team. I find the who concept of time and dimensions really cool, and I love clocks! If youw ant to chat about your pitch email me at kalastbooks [at] internode [dot] on [dot] net 🙂

Thoughts, comments, replies...

