Rion’s Lietmotif?

By chance, I was thinking about my main antagonist, Rion, the same moment I was listening to this ‘theme’ from the Professor Layton DS series.

It’s Descole’s theme and I love it to bits. I think that it fully embodies the character of Jean Descole: the mystery, the antagonism, the glamour. For a character I know little about, I am frequently reminded by my memories of gameplay that he is very much like Moriarty or Holmes: there is a certain wilderness of mind to his kept figure.

Of course, the music only adds to this.

Yet, Rion’s type of treachery has its own glamour. Certainly, I would say that his blazer-and-shirt personality is matched by Descole’s own fur splendour. His lover certainly thought so!

Descole, he's wearing a glossy cape! *squees*
Descole, he’s wearing a glossy cape! *squees*

In my Music GCSE, we had a section about film and dramatic music, to which I paid double attention as an actress as well; there, we were taught the term ‘leitmotif’ (from the German) rather than theme, but it means the same. And I would happily select this piece – or even snippets of it – as a motif for Rion’s scenes.

What I most like about the theme, though, is that it may be obsessed with power – and evil deeds? – from its start to 0.30 [using my own copy’s timeline; this may not correspond with the above]; but later (0.33 to 1.01), I sense a melancholy or past sorrow that emerges. It’s romantic. It’s lonely.

And the change says more about the character than he himself ever could. What magic is music!

Oddly, I was having trouble deciphering the key, because the emotive reactions I have whilst listening are neither happy nor sad. Again, the word ‘powerful’ sneaks in. This piece has a kick, but it’s not a dark or light piece, even when one could say ‘moody’. For human nature, this is perfect. No human, even the worst kind, is ever wholly dark; in their own mind and sensations, they have a nexus of positive applications of their actions. They have things they love, even when those are not the norm.

Finally, from 1.03 onwards (with a brief divergence of golden glory at 1.33 to 1.41 with string running arpeggios as the other side of the pulse) the piece exudes determination for change. A scorned character trying to break through the ‘good men’ to relive their successes. It’s human nature to want success indeed.

Here, this reflects Rion the most. He has a grandiose exterior that has concealed a burnt and angry heart – from which pours a new determination to change the inequality by which he is surrounded. It’s not one’s usual crusader fighting for justice, but he possesses his own sense of how the world should be. Besides, I can imagine Rion jumping from rooftops extravagantly, just like Descole does. They are strangely alike. Or…maybe not so strangely.

It’s amazing how well music is able to capture character. Rion’s backstory is a complicated one, and I feel that this leitmotif symbolises well what I have felt for him. My heart races whenever the glissandos and masses of chords are penetrating my eardrums, my mind, my body.

Anyway, the piece contains the joining of organ and harp and sounds like chandeliers. What more could I want from a leitmotif for my antagonist?

Thoughts, comments, replies...

