Sorry for the Radio Silence

To be honest, I’ve been neglecting my blog a little for the last month. Actually, I have a reason of moving house and not having any internet from the phone-line until now-ish.

But that’s going to change – because I have [bought for and am awaiting arrival] a new, supercharged – ie. completely confusing Windows 8 – laptop, and should be back on schedule by…the end of this week…?

Well, I’m trying! I get half a blog post idea in mind, before something whisks me or my interest away from completing it.

And, actually, I have been purposefully neglecting the blog, too. As I mentioned in the previous post, I’ve been peer editing short stories, and this has helped me immensely with my own work. As I said in WTCB September, I’m also going into mega-edit-mode with said novel (sixteen out of twenty-seven chapters so far for the first run isn’t doing too badly), and, even this morning, I was pursing my lips over my old laptop and saying to myself ‘that’s a stupid piece of dialogue’. My characters say a lot of contrived things.

Not to mention I’m going to try and get one of my results remarked.

I also had an affair with another blog (!) and guest posted over at Miriam Joy’s about editing and how I’ve come to understand that it’s not so scary.

Here’s an extract:

You can still love your prose whilst looking at it in a critical eye – in fact, I believe this makes for a better editor, as you want to read a story with a curious, reader’s eye. Rewriting can be fun – cringing aside – when you know the story already; it’s about finding a new way to tell something that’s already said once.

Say a character is clumsy. Rewriting plays around with the idea behind the words, making them more realistic; you remove the telling phrases and replace them with an image: she juggled her lunch-box, her apple and her binder, and still managed to drop all three.

Rewriting is the nailpolish on the nails, the twiddly bit of frill on the dress-cuff. I like rewriting because, as writers, we are exploring our prose, as opposed to simply churning it out.

Editing, too, offers a chance to be the most creative and – in my opinion – clever. You don’t have to have any qualifications in English Literature to see that, if a character suffers (explicit or implicit) depression, they’re not going to describe a sunset as ‘sparkling’. Perhaps they might even see the sky’s hues as the colour of their own blood.

clip_image002
Anyway, I look forward to tomorrow’s post, the first of the WTCB September posts, about the geography land in which Phillip and Aidelle reside, The Continent.

 

3 thoughts on “Sorry for the Radio Silence

Thoughts, comments, replies...

