Your Friends Might Be Fairies

Today’s awesome reblog is by Miriam Joy – about fairies (and those other supernatural beings) existing, once or now, in this life. It’s funny, since fairies in present influencing fiction is one of the subtler (I hope!) points I make in the short story on which I’ve been working.

Take her point about evidence, for instance: my MC, Fionna, only accepts that the woman asking for her help is a fairy after she’s snatched her dagger and cut her neck, revealing green blood.

An old online friend, I’ve not had the chance to beta any of Miriam’s tales-with-fairies (because I won’t call them ‘fairy tales’), but I get the sense that her fairies might well fit in with the personalities of mine…or perhaps get along if not. Check out Miriam’s blog when you get the chance.

Miriam Joy Writes

It occurred to me a couple of days ago that should a young adult who had previously appeared mostly normal turn around to me and inform me that they were a fairy / vampire / werewolf / other supernatural creature, I’d probably just roll with it. Sure, so I might suspect they read too much YA, but if they had any sort of proof (oddly coloured or glowing eyes, weird moving tattoos, fangs, or a series of absences on full moon), I basically wouldn’t freak out.

i understand everything

We’ve generally accepted that the way to deal with a magical creature suddenly appearing is either, “But that’s impossible, they don’t exist!” or, “You mean you’re real?” In other words, either you deny it, or you panic and then accept that the world is odder than you thought it might be.

Now, contrary to popular belief regarding my friends, I’ve never actually been…

View original post 843 more words

4 thoughts on “Your Friends Might Be Fairies

Thoughts, comments, replies...

