In Which I Appear in Doctor-Who-Related Vlogs

Hey, you remember that party I went to for the Day of the Doctor 50th where I dressed up as River Song? Well, one of my friends has a YouTube channel – BethSaysxx – and she got around to posting her vlog of the event. Obviously, she’s the one leading the vlog and asking the questions, but I do feature. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (She addresses me by my middle name ‘Poppy’, by the way.) You get to see my costume in more of its awesome glory, and I briefly discuss Moffat’s writing, plot and Zygon memories. When I don’t plan what I’m saying, yes, I wave my hands about and say “uhmm,” a lot. Yes, my earrings are TARDISs. Leaky Con merch. ๐Ÿ˜‰

And, especially for my American followers – you get to hear two of my English accents*.

“Was there anything you didn’t like about it?”

*Pulls face* Seriously, I liked the episode, I liked the writing, I liked the acting. I loved the Bad Wolf reference. I didn’t like how rushed the ending seemed, but, after the hour-plus ride we’d just had, adding more might have just complicated the plot further. As a writer, I understand that not everything can be resolved concisely. On the other hand, I’m not so keen on the whole ‘let’s find Gallifrey’ idea. I grew up without Doctor Who Time Lords, and I feel this grounds The Doctor and his motives to Earth – he has no other home, which means he finds himself like a responsible protector of our planet. And he finds friends amongst the humans.

However, I don’t object to non-human companions. Bring back Romana, as BethSaysxx did in her video. ๐Ÿ˜€
In the same vein, I loved Tom Baker’s cameo! *Classic Who fanning*

In short, there were a lot of things I didn’t like – as a writer –ย about it, but those didn’t detract from my viewing it as a Doctor Who fan. Bear in mind that, as I review, I pedantically search for the picky. Too, I’ll only question what I love. And we know I love Doctor Who. Come on – I reference it in my novel query!

Oh, and uni’s going okay, but I’ve had so many Christmas events to attend to – next weekend, for instance, I’m playing a Christmas-themed friendly Quidditch match against the London collective. The Reading Rocs are playing Santas, and The London Unspeakables are the elves. I have my hat at the ready! Also my camera. I’ll try and do a Quidditch-themed post sometime. I actually have some footage of me playing a match, so y’all can find out firsthand how it works.

River Song signing off ๐Ÿ˜‰

AlexB_River

*Yes, I have many accents. I pick up intonation and phrasing so easily/without realising, and it depends the context, too. Here, I’m just chilling – “make up yer mind!” is definitely the roughest – but you can almost tangibly hear the changes. I guess that’s one-up for the acting.

Thoughts, comments, replies...

