My Top Five Movies

Something light for your Friday evening Saturday. I’ve not done one of these ‘top five’ posts before, and that’s not surprising, considering that I dislike having favourites – everything should be grand, in my opinion! However, recently I noticed a trend of some sort in my love of old[er] movies rather than the newer stuff. I like a film that, whilst being entertaining, also resonates and is wise.

1. Stardust (2007)

I don’t think I’ll ever stop loving this epic fantasy. It’s sweet, funny, clever and just a bit magical. 😉 The entire cast are on fine form and the setting is gorgeous – just look at those rolling hills. Gah, I could pointlessly praise the film repeatedly. To be honest, it’s one of those pieces of work for which I have no particular love. I just do love it! I’m not the only one to say so, either. It’s one of the great English films of the ‘noughties’.

Oh, and, as a plus, my dad likes it, too! His favourite characters are the ghosts and his favourite scene the confrontation between Tristan and the witches after Septimus is killed, which makes sense, since he’s in the army and that fight scene has an element of military humour.

2. Alice Through the Looking Glass (1998)

Oh, great, Alex is talking about this movie again. Haha, yes, I am! I’ve mentioned before how much the book influenced me – even if Carroll does suggest the ‘it was all a dream’ ending – and the film did the same with its faithful adaptation. It’s so quotable! One only has to think of the rich universe Carroll created to imagine the presentation the movie brings: prissy talking flowers, chessboard portals, cacophony and order, wrapped together with some delicious pieces of soundtrack by Dominik Scherrer.

"'The white knight slid down the poker; he balanced very badly.' That's not a memorandum of your feelings!"
“‘The white knight slid down the poker; he balanced very badly.’ That’s not a memorandum of your feelings!”

The actors bring those exotic characters to life, from Kate Beckingsale right up to Geoffrey Palmer and Penelope Wilton, and it doesn’t take much to get lost in the fantasy. Sure, it’s a 90s film and the people dressed up as animals reflects that, but, despite this, there’s no sense of falseness in the filmography. One gets so ‘into’ the fiction that one forgets what is reality or not. Apparently, it was low-budget, too!

In a way, one could argue that my adventures into philosophy started with Lewis Carroll’s fiction, and for that I shall be forever grateful.

3. The Jungle Book (1994)

Live action, adult romance version of Rudyard Kipling’s tales. Mowgli is separated from Kitty as a child when vicious tiger Shere Kahn attacks the camp in which they’re staying. Mowgli survives in the Indian rainforest by being raised by wolves and a panther and a young bear he rescued from a fallen log. By the time Kitty returns as part of her father’s army posting, she’s unhappily betrothed to an arrogant young officer who seeks the mythical treasure of monkey King Louie, regardless of who he betrays in the process.

The tension! It’s such a rich plot. (And, no, it’s not a love triangle. From the first time we meet adult Kitty, Katherine, we can tell that she’s become uncomfortable with her previous flirtation, but is squashed under the rule of her officer). Lena Headey is one of my favourite actresses nowadays, though I guess I can now link back to when I first saw her, even when I didn’t realise who she was then. And John Cleese. 🙂 I can’t really say much more about why I like this film, but it’s clever, funny, and unique, since Mowgli cannot speak for the first forty-five minutes of the film so the actor who plays him portrays so much emotion through feral glances and movements.

Animals are our friends. 🙂

4. A Bug’s Life (1998)

Classic Pixar. This was one of my favourite childhood films, though I have no idea why. Inventor ant hires a bunch of circus clowns to free his colony from the tyranny of mean ol’ grasshoppers. Atta was my favourite character – you know, the lovable, sensible female lead – but Flik and Hopper resonated with me so much that the first piece of fiction I wrote was a short story about them, written on two sides of A4 in bright red felt pen. I think my house still has a giant talking Dot doll somewhere, too.

So, it was probably the dynamic colours, setting and the characters that drew me to the film, but the plot and believable dialogue kept me to it. Pixar worked hard with this one.

 

5. Bringing Up Baby (1938)

The only one on this list I’ve seen only once, but I’d jump at the chance to see it again, cringiness or not. This is also the most unusual of the top five, for its black and white-ness. I don’t normally watch black and white films, but, like a good book, I forgot that the colour had gone because I was so immersed in the quaint tale of a crazy heroine, her pet leopard called Baby, and the palaeontologist who finds himself in the middle of their business. Katharine Hepburn is a gorgeous charm, though her character is frustratingly insane to no end! Cary Grant plays pathetic to perfect pitch.

You said it, 1930s trailer!

4 thoughts on “My Top Five Movies

    1. Yes ❤

      Random fact: the Penelope Wilton 'meme' picture on my FB you liked is from the Alice movie where she plays the White Queen. I was watching the movie whilst writing this post 😉

Thoughts, comments, replies...

