I don’t cook daily, but I like to cook weekly. It gives me an excuse to play with the many proper spices I got for Christmas. I ❤ spices. Mmm, flavours. 

Here’s my own crazy dessert, based on a romantic ‘cheesecake’ recipe I had on my calendar for February. But, being me – and being a student with only half the ingredients – I put my own twist on it. Kind of an experiment!

I wish I could title this photograph any other way – something sweet and food-related – but it has come to my dim attention that I, without fail, make a mess whatever I’m cooking. Sweet foods in particular!

MessySweetBlueberryDessert_AlexB

As you can see, it overflowed a lot…

Here’s the original recipe, up against mine.

(Serves two, but you don’t necessarily have to half all the ingredients for one)

1. Put 100g rhubarb, cut into 3cm pieces, into a pan with 25g caster sugar and 50g raspberries. Cover and cook over a low heat for 5-8 minutes until tender. Spoon the rhubarb out and continue to cook the juices for 1 min more before pouring over the rhubarb. Put 200g blueberries into a frying pan with as much caster sugar as needed and about a tablespoon of cold water. Cook for about five minutes, until blueberries are soft and juices are purple and thick. Leave to cool.

2. Crumble 80g almond and chocolate biscotti (plain biscotti works just as nicely) or whizz in a food processor. Mix with 30g unsalted English butter melted (and try not to explode butter all over your microwave when melting! 😉 ) and spoon into 1 or 2 serving dishes/glasses. Place in the fridge to chill. I used 30g of the butter, but ended pouring half of it out of the glass once I’d put in the blueberries. Use as much as you think you really need for it to act as a binding agent on the biscotti base. I poured into the bottom of a simple tall drinking glass because nobody had a serving dish/glass. Place in the fridge to chill.

3. Whisk 200g full-fat soft cheese with 120g double cream, 3 tablespoons of icing sugar and vanilla seeds. Spoon onto the biscotti base. Place back into the fridge to chill for an hour (or however long you actually have)Whisk melted butter, sugar and vanilla extract into milk (to thicken. If the milk goes creamy, great!). But, seriously, this is the part of the recipe I say you follow, rather than mine. My mixing worked for me, but I don’t know how it’d work for you. Pour onto base and put into fridge.

4. Remove from fridge, top with rhubarb and its syrup and serve. If there is an excess of blueberries to fit in the glass, lace them onto the side of the plate as I did to eat as you go along. 

Very sweet, but very nice!

Photo of the Week: Messy

2 thoughts on “Photo of the Week: Messy

Thoughts, comments, replies...

