From the Log of the Social Sec: Positions of Our Own

socialSec

Continuing with my log of Quidditch from this weekend’s Whiteknights Tournament, I want to talk today about a topic that newer players might not have thought about, but which talking and hosting other teams this weekend has led my to see more clearly: knowing the right position for a player.

After try-outs, my primary position was listed as Beater, with Chaser being my secondary. But now? Now – Chaser is the position I slip into at the beginning of matches, it’s where I feel the most comfortable and can play to my optimum. I like being a Beater, but it’s not what comes to my mind immediately.

This happens to a lot of players, especially when you get into matches and realise that you’ve been playing for a good four, five months now. (And isn’t that amazing?) But why? And – more importantly – why don’t we realise the change as it happens rather than afterwards?

Well, for starters, Quidditch (I’m going to be specific for now on in the post, but, of course, this same idea of finding the right position applies to most team sports) is a brand new sport to most people – as such, how can one know into which position one must step first? We try all of them to make sure we are not missing out on some fun or more useful skill. Because I was placed there first, I adapted to a Beater position, before realising that my chasing was a deal better, due to my background in netball and rugby.

It’s definitely not just me thinking that. Members of our team find themselves as Snitches or they opt to play a different role, and suddenly, that becomes their primary. In a way, this is like an evolution – of the mind/mental depiction of one’s self in the game and of the body as a self. We must biologically adapt our own, already functions to the workings of the sport.

Only when another position is imposed on one does one realise how much more natural it is to fall into the ways of the primary (or only) position.

They got me into it at one point, though. Photograph by Thibault Kruyts at the Valentine’s Mercenary

Eventually, by the fifth month (that’s over a third of a year!) of playing, one knows of their place at the creation of a ‘headband of shame’, a position that one would not play. Ever. Except utility players, but they don’t really count – and they tend to be the stronger, faster players anyway.

For me, headband of shame is the yellow of the Seeker headband – I can’t fight against the power of the Snitch to save a game, and that would be too much pressure to impose on me in a match!

In addition, most – if not all – positions come with their own subdivisions that one finds themselves taking subconsciously into account. Some blogs talk about ‘offensive and defensive beating’, but the same applies to any position. For instance, Keepers are allowed to chase their way up an entire pitch, rather than waiting for opposing players to come down and attempt to score. Thus, after this weekend’s play, especially as it was against some of the more offensive teams, it has come to my knowledge that I am definitely more of a defensive Chaser when it comes to matches. After all, when we balance the members of the squad, there are faster and stronger players, who will score in a game without me.

On the other hand, I can tackle. 🙂

Beating for the Simultaneous Scorgasms at Oxford’s Valentine’s Cup Mercenary. Photo by the incredible Thibault Kruyts

Thoughts, comments, replies...

