‘A Subtle Grace’ Virtual Book Tour

Writer Ellen Gable is having her Virtual Book Tour of her newest novel, A Subtle Grace, and I have invited her to the blog with five questions rather than the usual ten…

A Subtle Grace Blurb:

1896, Philadelphia.   In this sequel to “In Name Only” (2009 FQP), “A Subtle Grace” continues the story of the wealthy and unconventional O’Donovan Family as they approach the dawn of a new century.

At 19, Kathleen (oldest daughter) is unmarried with no prospects. Fearing the lonely fate of an old maid, her impatience leads to an infatuation with the first man who shows interest. The suave, handsome son of the local police chief seems a perfect match. But will her impulsive manner prevent her from recognizing her true beloved? A disturbing turn of events brings a dark shadow that threatens the life-long happiness she desires.

Dr. Luke Peterson (the family’s new physician) also makes quite an impression on Kathleen. His affection for her leads him to startling revelations: about Kathleen, about his practice and, most importantly, about himself.

Will (oldest son) believes God may be calling him to a religious vocation. Eventually, he discovers the hidden circumstances of his humble beginnings compelling him to embark on a pilgrimage to Rome.

(Although “A Subtle Grace” is a sequel, it can be read as a stand alone book.)

Amazon Kindle

Amazon Print

 

Title:  A Subtle Grace

Series: O’Donovan Family (Book 2)

Author: Ellen Gable

Genre: Catholic Fiction (Historical Romance)

Publication Date: March 19, 2014 (Kindle)

March 25, 2014 (Print)

Length: 126,131 words, 414 pages

Publisher: FQ Publishing

 

Without further ado, the questions:

AB: What inspired you to start writing, especially inspirational/Catholic fiction?

EG: I’m very grateful to be the mother of five (nearly grown) sons, but it was not an easy road to motherhood. After having my fifth miscarriage, I started writing in a journal in 1994 to cope with sadness and grief. In addition, I’ve always been interested in ancestry and discovered aspects of my great-grandmother’s life that shocked me. My husband eventually suggested that I write a novel based on the parallel true stories of myself and my great-grandmother and that is how I started writing my first book, Emily’s Hope. After that, I knew that I wanted to continue writing inspirational fiction. My second book, In Name Only, is a novel that is not based on any true stories or characters (and was much more fun to write!!)

AB: How did you come up with the idea for A Subtle Grace?

EG: I came up with the idea after I finished writing the first “O’Donovan Family” book, In Name Only, because I felt there was more to this family’s story.  As I began thinking of plot and characters, the story came to me and I was able to outline it in one sitting.  Writing the story, however, took a lot longer (nearly five years from conception to publication).

AB: Which character(s) have been especially notable to you during writing and editing the story?

EG: From the time I started conceiving the story until now, my favorite character has been Dr. Luke.  He has a wounded past but, more importantly, he is a gentle and kind man. I also really like Kathleen (or Kat, the main female protagonist) who grows in maturity during the course of the novel.

AB: What have you found the most difficult about self-publishing?

EG: With self-publishing, the author is not only writing the story, but editing (or, preferably, hiring editors), formatting, designing the cover (or hiring a designer), marketing, publishing etc. These are all huge responsibilities.  I have to pay 100 percent of the expenses, but I also receive 100 percent of the profits. Most importantly, I like the fact that I have 100 percent of the control of what happens with my books.  This is one reason I continue to self-publish.

AB: What about the publishing process of A Subtle Grace specifically?

EG: With A Subtle Grace, the publishing process has been easier. After publishing my own as well as other authors’ books, I’m more familiar with the process. I employed two editors and five proofreaders. I also asked ten fellow writers to read an advanced draft and offer me feedback. My husband and I together designed the cover. I did everything else myself.  Since we started our company eleven years ago, it has expanded.  We’re happy to be publishing other authors’ books as well.

Thank you, Alexandrina!! Thank you for answering my questions 🙂

 

AUTHOR BIO: Ellen Gable (Hrkach) is a bestselling, award-winning author of five books. She is also a freelance writer, publisher, editor, book coach, NFP teacher and President of Catholic Writers Guild.  When she’s not writing, Ellen enjoys spending time with her family, watching old movies, playing trivia games and reading on her Kindle. Originally born in New Jersey, USA, the author now calls Canada her home. She and her family reside in rural Pakenham, Ontario, Canada.

Amazon Author Pagehttp://www.amazon.com/Ellen-Gable/e/B002LFMXOI/

Blog:  http://ellengable.wordpress.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ellengable

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/ellengable

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1595635.Ellen_Gable

Pinterest:  http://www.pinterest.com/ellengable/

Other books by Ellen:

Emily’s Hope  www.emilyshope.com

In Name Only (O’Donovan Family #1) www.innameonly.ca

Stealing Jenny  www.stealingjenny.com

Come My Beloved: Inspiring Stories of Catholic Courtship

 

One thought on “‘A Subtle Grace’ Virtual Book Tour

Thoughts, comments, replies...

