Ready. Set. Write! Update

This is update #2 for me, because this time last week I was working on the 24-hour musical, but I believe most people are on update #3, so take your pick (I’m not sure which to use :P).

Ready. Set. WRITE! is a summer writing intensive that encourages goal-setting and accountability, and provides an opportunity for us to cheer each other on wherever we’re at in our writing—planning, drafting, revising, or polishing. This year, your hosts are Alison MillerJaime MorrowErin Funk, and Katy Upperman.

 

How I did on last week’s goal(s). (not as well as hoped)

1. Draft new query. Mostly done. Uh, I think. I’m tweaking here and there.

2. Send out one or two of June query batch. Going to have to give this one a temporal miss. I’m allowing myself leniency on missing June because I had exams at its beginning, but still…

3. Send chapter one of When the Clock Broke to Beta4. Write this scene from WTCB3 that is nagging me. Done and [mostly] done. I have yet to look over the notes from said Beta, though.

4. Plan integral plot of Steampunk ‘H’, ready for next month. Done! With a couple of days to spare. I’m excited about this, as it features (sword) fight scenes, Latinate Italy, and a people called NovoSapiens.

5. Survive these next couple of weeks: University of Reading Open Days and the unfortunately-timed Wantage Hall ball (I will have 4/5 hours max sleep between the ball and getting up at 7 to be in the Psych department for 8.30, five hours of showing around visitors, then changing and running to a swing demonstration)… Then, the following day I have a choir performance, and the day(s) after that musical things… I’m alive! I have been so busy…

(Also: Fix the alt gr key on my laptop. Any ideas?) Minimal progress because I’m no mechanic. Sometimes, it works; sometimes it doesn’t.

My goal(s) for this week.

1. Stop watching so many Steam Powered Giraffe live videos. I’m serious – this fangirling is the core of my procrastination, and it’s getting out of hand!

But aren’t they great?! *runs around bedroom*

2. CAMPNANOWRIMO. Yes, it deserved capslock. I’m going to be moving back home this week, so I don’t expect as much to be written, but I am hoping to do at least 1K a day. That’s reasonable.

3. July WTCB query batch. Please.

That’s it for now. I’m letting NaNo take centre stage for now.

A favourite line from my project OR a word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised.

Simplicity. I’m currently ducking in and out of Victoria Grefer’s guide Writing For You, and one chapter has struck me, about how the most grammatical of writing is not always the best/most interesting. I really wish someone had alerted me to this earlier, as I’ve read so much online picking at bad grammar, that I failed to pick up that convoluted sentences just to escape using a certain ill-style are as bad. So, as part of my summer goal of trying to make WTCB more hooking, I’ve been revising for those florid phrases of mine that make little sense.

The biggest challenge I faced this week.

Effort. I struggle at editing simply because I don’t find it entertaining. It’s not the cutting, nor the tweaking, but the actual act of reading something not for pleasure but for accuracy and with negatives in mind all the time. I love WTCB, I really do, but I’ve reached that point where I need someone with stricter goals for the novel to guide my editing.

Something I love about my WiP. 

I’m billing When the Clock Broke as ‘light Steampunk’ because of its technical NeoVictorian/2010 setting (see my rant from last update about what is and isn’t Steampunk to me), and this is helping me deepen the setting in the first chapters. I’ve always known there were gaslamps on the streets, but having a character explicitly look at one paints the scene better, I believe.

10 thoughts on “Ready. Set. Write! Update

  1. Florid writing was my nemesis with my first project. Simplicity works very well for me and so I go with it. 🙂 Good luck with Camp Nano! And the querying! You can do it!

    1. It’s always been a problem with me, especially with When the Clock Broke because I’d always intended that at least the male MC and his family speak as if they live in Victorian times to exemplify the class system in the world. The florid prose followed that a little 😛

      *bites nails* Querying is so energy-sapping I find. This time I’ve got a list of about 8 agents (In Feb and May I only sent to 5 each month), but I know it will take me at least a week to send all the queries because I can’t emotionally send more than two a day.

  2. Congrats on doing so much writing while you’re also in school! That’s a lot to balance, but I am inspired by your dedication! I am also planning to do Camp Nano though I may not start anything right away since a different writing project needs attention first. I’m only aiming for an outline and 20k for Camp Nano so I think that’s attainable.

    1. Aha, thanks. It takes its toll sometimes, but I don’t think I could get through uni without my writing.
      Yeah! We should all keep each other updated with our NaNo progress. I know I’ve got other stories to edit, but I have too many strong ideas to let them rest, especially now I have an outline of what my plot may look like.

  3. Whoo, you have one whirlwind schedule going on! But it sounds like you’ve got it all mapped out, so good for you. Good luck for this week! Oh, and WTCB sounds super intriguing!

Thoughts, comments, replies...

