7 Quick Takes about Interviews, Anniversaries, and Arranging Swing

Time for trading the seven things of the week with the bloggers over at ConversionDiary. Join us. 🙂

7 quick takes sm1 7 Quick Takes about back to school, veggie choppers, a great DC event, and recording radio spots under dicey circumstances

~1~

It’s weird to read all those posts about people going back to school these past couple of weeks. I know so many US bloggers that it’s easy to forget that British students don’t get back to school until September, and I for one, don’t go back to academic work in Reading until almost October.

~2~

I’ve been moving between houses this week, and my schedule has been a little off kilter, but not so worse for wear. It’s only been a change of walking around and observing the scenery.

~3~

Last Sunday, I went to one of my greatest friend’s parents’ anniversary. It was a nice evening, and good to see my friend again.

AlexB_Arron1

And her boyfriend mucking about…

~4~

As you’ll see by yesterday’s post, Ready. Set. Write! is now over *weeps at sudden lack of schedule* I’m deep in looking for CP and betas from this and the other conventions that have been around…virtually, but I’m aware that my time-freedom is running out*.

~5~

I also had the chance this week to start my Steampunk Spotlight segment about alt-history fantasy authors by interviewing Cindy Spencer Pape. Authors, flock to me! I am very interested in this topic, and I find the best way to learn is through studying others (says the Psychology student). Sadly, I’m still waiting for Cindy’s book to come through the post, but I’m sure it’s awesome. In fact, I’m still waiting for a good few things through the post, so yeah… T_T

~6~

A lot of what I’m doing at the moment is actually behind the scenes work – writing, as you know, is generally an input-output imbalance type of work, as is being a musician and creating costumes, but in addition to that, I’ve been helping out the Reading Uni Swing Dance society, and we’re currently trying to sort the meal for our first big social of the academic year.

~7~

Still editing. I guess I’m making slow progress, but I hit the 55K mark (with the prologue and epilogue letters), so I’m somewhat on track. This week I’ll be polishing chapters 10 and 11 for my primary CP and pushing on through the last five chapters, which, in terms of prose, are a bit messy, despite being more polished, in terms of how much they’ve changed, than the others.

 

*Random psych point: did you know that women are more aware of their bodyclock when exposed to audible ticking? I can’t find the link to the news article at the moment, so you’ll have to find the evidence yerselves 😉

2 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes about Interviews, Anniversaries, and Arranging Swing

  1. Pfft, I like the picture of your friend’s boyfriend. 😛 What a goof.

    You probably feel as confused about all these back-to-school posts as I do when my Australian blogger friends post about YAY IT’S SUMMER and I’m like… wait, what? Oh, right, the seasons are flipped. xD

    • Haha, yeah. They’ve been together for just over a year, but they were friends for about a year before that, so I’ve known him for a while and it was fun to sit opposite them in a room full of (mostly) her parents’ friends whom I didn’t know.
      And, yeah, he’s a goof 😛

      Haha, yeah. I grew up watching the Aussie soap Neighbours, so I’m rather more used to it. Still, ’tis pretty weird!

Thoughts, comments, replies...

