Photo of the Week: Webs

–Creepy crawly warning–

I tell you, readers, aversion therapy and systematic desensitisation (effectively soft, tiered aversion) work. No, I’m not saying that as a Psych Major student – I’m saying it as a Psychology student using her knowledge in the real world.

Even five months ago you would not have seen me post a photograph of a spider on the blog. Let alone take the photograph myself. On seeing them settled on webs in passing bushes, I would have zipped up my jumper and shrugged up my collars instead of stopping and admiring the patterning on their abdomen, let alone stretching my arms, and, more importantly, camera, towards them.

I still have a trepidation of spiders. I still flinch when I see them and would rather not have them in the room. I am not, however, as (literally!) petrified of them as I have been my entire life.

Webs_AlexB

And for those who don’t mind studying the photo: there is something about the way s/he is balanced so delicately, one can really start to notice the intricacy and elegance of these, uh, critters. They make a fine web, even when not on coke. (Fun internet fact: the first Google suggestion for ‘spider webs’ is ‘spider webs on drugs’. Seems most people have heard of the experiments by now.) I am no biologist/entomologist, so I know nothing about the way a spider goes about its activities, but it is interesting to see the way this one sits of the web, all hairy legs splayed. Makes one wonder how many flies have been caught or will be.

All this points to the fact that the natural world is beautiful, even if it can be creepy. I think one day I might be able to properly handle medium and big sized spiders, but, for now, I will have to work on dismissing the fear.

3 thoughts on “Photo of the Week: Webs

  1. Lovely photo! I’m not afraid of spiders, but I am terribly afraid of rodents. I’ve actually considered aversion therapy for it, but I’m scared of how far that will go.

    1. Ah, and I’ve always been fine with rodents. It’s weird how differently humans react to different stimuli.
      Systematic desensitisation is great because it’s steps, and you could effectively back out whenever you wanted. As far as I’ve read (I don’t think aversion therapy is clinically practised much any more), aversion therapy would be all at once.

Thoughts, comments, replies...

