Predictions on The Orient Express

She's waiting for the Express
She’s waiting for the Express

*Greeterings, my name is Lady Summer Chronaire and I’ll be your Dieselpunk conductrice for this journey. Your exits are here, here, and here, but please, ladies and gentlemen, do not open the carriage door whilst in flight. The Orient Express will take your breath away. Literally.*

I wrote that after I saw the episode trailer for this week’s Doctor Who episode, and, yes, I’m fully aware it’s packed with clichés. My first thought was actually – Oh, my gosh, Space Train! Can I just steal that idea, please? *big eyes* Please? It would go so well with the Steampunk novella I want to plan. TRAINNNNSSS.

Yes, I got in the flailing gif! This is so me, actually. Just get me the face-paint for Hallowe’en. Sprague is one of the league of golden haired people, like me and Alex Kingston. #socool

In preparation for reviewing this week’s Doctor Who episode with Nevillegirl, I’ve put together some thoughts. Obviously, I’ve only seen the trailer, so these are more general things.

I’m looking forward to:

The Doctor alone. Whilst Ten and Eleven tended to go wild when left on their own, Twelve has that ‘loner’ aura that means he operates as well without a companion as well (though, bear in mind Twelve’s only had Clara).

Also – slight deviant case in point, it wad nice to see the companion get sick of The Doctor before something outside them stole them away.

66 Seconds to live… I love time as a conflict because it’s out of anyone’s control, even a Time Lord’s. DW has previously followed the line of time being at least semi sentient, and, though not the point in this particular episode,

The Orient Express itself and her aesthetics. It’s still on my bucket list to travel the entirety of The Orient Express route, especially if I get to do it in costume. By naming their episode in homage to that famous book, the producers have set the bar high. Just like The Unicorn and the Wasp, which divided audiences, I’ll be looking at the fun and Christie-fangirl factor of this episode, as well as how it fits into the rest of the series.

The science. I want to see how they explain a mummy on a space train – though, it’ll probably be an artefact being transported for some dubious reason.

My not-so-impressed face looks a lot like this.
Or maybe it’s this. This one has a flying machine in it. #toomanygifs, not enough references.

I didn’t draw explicit parallels with Voyage of the Damned until Nevillegirl pointed it out, but I’m hoping that it won’t be another ‘experience the past in the future!’. Highly unlikely an idea, but I’d enjoy seeing people secretly transported into space in the 30s (see my Dieselpunk idea above). I’m not going to try and second-guess the episode, though. With the great lack of double episodes except the finale this series, one-off and spontaneous episodes like these have more gravitas. On the other hand, they can also be quite rushed or dry, as a couple of the previous episodes this series have been to me.

Anyway, those are my thoughts for the time-being. We’ll just have to see how things turn out tonight. I’m waiting in anticipation. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Predictions on The Orient Express

    1. I am in the process of writing a review with Nevillegirl, so I will post that when it’s up on her blog – and perhaps my own personal, if sporadic, thoughts I made whilst watching the episode.

Thoughts, comments, replies...

