The Ultimate Book Tag

Because procrastinating is fun, I present an ultimate book tag I found on Musings From Neville’s Navel, woop.

  1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

I do. I also get sick when playing handheld games. Weirdly, though, I don’t get sick when writing on journeys, be that on my phone or on paper.

  1. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Lemony Snicket/Daniel Handler’s. I am amazed at how post-modern his writing is and how he encompasses the entire lore of the Snicket world. But, at the same time, it’s great reading, and a story that deals with the morality line in good versus evil, family, and tragic loss. I can imagine that the sort of post-modernism would be rejected by so many agents; it’s such a hard genre to pull off, but somehow, Handler perfects it and creates a genuinely great set of series for YA.

  1. The Harry Potter series or the Twilight Saga? Give three points to defend your answer.

If I had to pick, it would be Harry Potter series. Aside from not liking paranormal romance, so Twilight loses anyway, the bildungsroman nature of seeing Harry mature is effective and worth emphasising with. What I mean is that it’s easy to relate to, and, regardless of JK’s style (which I don’t particularly like nowadays), the books inspired an entire society of people striving to be more like Harry/Ron/Hermione/Lupin/Snape/etc.

  1. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what’s in it? (Besides books!)

Not anymore. I did my entire primary/elementary school life – in it was also my recorder and my music book for recorder.

  1. Do you smell your books?

Yes. New book smell is transmuted from Heaven. 🙂

  1. Books with or without little illustrations?

I tend to go with books without, but I really depends on whether these are mid-page, beginning or end of chapter, or whatever. Of course, the quality of the writing matters more.

  1. What book did you love while reading but discovered later that it wasn’t quality writing?

I’m going to lift Nevillegirl’s answer and also say: Dare I say Harry Potter? |It’s great when one is, like, seven, but I prefer the first film (for nostalgia) to the first book nowadays. Also the chapter books Rainbow Magic. They were so addictive and quick to read that I ate them up, but they were are mass-produced at a ridiculous rate and, frankly, I was too old for them anyway.

  1. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

    Uhh, no I don’t think I do, and even if I did, I wouldn’t want to share. My childhood featured a lot of cringy books. Let me refer you to the above answer.

  2. What is the thinnest book on your shelves?

I’m gonna go by my uni shelf/mantelpiece, since I can’t look to my Oxford bookcase(s). The thinnest fiction book is The Labours of Hercules by Agatha Christie.

  1. What is the thickest book on your shelves?

The complete Lewis Carroll collection. And a Roget’s Thesaurus. 😉

  1. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself as an author in the future?

That’s the point of the blog. 😉

  1. When did you get into reading?

Uhh, I don’t know. Since I learnt to read? I still remember sounding out the word ‘the’. 😛

  1. What is your favorite classic book?
    Far From the Madding Crowd is always very sweet to read and Thomas Hardy’s writing is very elegant.
  2. In school, was your best subject English?

Nope. My best subject was Religious Studies, closely followed by Latin. So, I guess we’ve got some language and humanities in there. When I was in lower years, my best subject was actually Science. I was top of my class.

  1. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

    Of course, I’d never outwardly tell the giver I despised the book. Instead, I’d do the smiling and nodding thing, before shelving the book (or my equivalent, which might be putting it into a literal tbr pile). One day, I might give it another chance.

  2. What is a lesser-known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or The Hunger Games?

    [elboz1.jpg]Well, it won’t be a dystopian, that’s for sure, since I don’t like those. So…magical YA. Actually, I’m not sure how many people know of the A Handful of Magic series by Stephen Elboz. I haven’t read this trilogy since I first read them as a child, but I remember them being sparkly. For a more mature audience who don’t mind their heroines pointy-eared, Lisa Shearin’s Raine Benares series is great fantasy that has a facetious side.

 

  1. Besides rambling, what is a bad habit you always have while blogging?

Rushing, probably. Sometimes I just don’t feel like putting my effort/heart into writing blog posts when I’d rather be editing or researching.

  1. What is your favorite word?
    Supercalifragulicisticexpeali– Just kidding. My favourite word changes, often on a weekly basis. This week, it’s been ‘conniving’. As in ‘his conniving brother, Rion’.
  2. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

A nerd, I think. I’m one of the ones that knows everything about nothing, makes up random theories, and always jams my glasses further up my nose!

  1. Vampires or fairies? Why?

Fairies! I don’t like vampires and I’ve read a tonne of fairy fiction in my life to warrant that I like them better. To mind come: The 13 Treasures (Michelle Harrison), The Faerie Wars Chronicles (Herbie Brennan) and I grew up with The Flower Fairies books by Cicely Mary Barker, which were more artwork and profiles than fiction.

  1. Shapeshifters or angels? Why?

Mmmm. Shapeshifters, I guess. They interest me more than angels because angels I feel don’t have much to work with in term of supernatural/paranormal quality, whereas ‘shapeshifter’ implies any kind of polymorph ability, and so one could extrapolate the ideas and run with a lot there.

  1. Spirits or werewolves? Why?

I don’t really like werewolves, but then I’ve never been into that side of the vampires-v-werewolves debate either. Actually, I rather like ghost/spirit stories, especially those that aren’t [straight up] horror, or where the ghost is something other than the spirit of a deceased human. Doctor Who anyone?

  1. Zombies or vampires?

Uh. Uhh. Uhh… I can’t choose. I’m not a fan of either. Can’t people just die and stay dead, please?

  1. Love triangle or forbidden love?

Forbidden love. But not in a corny or clichéd way. I have been known to write love triangles, but I’d prefer to read something that moved away from the norm. I have written some occasions of forbidden love, too, though. In WTCB, for instance, there is master-servant forbidden love, and in A Game of Murder, Alé and Chris keep their love a secret from their mistress because servants cannoodling just wasn’t the done thing!

  1. Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Can’t I have both? *opens Kindle app* Too Close to Resist (Nicole Helm) is contemp romance; Unteachable (Leah Raeder) is YA romance; I know I have a couple of YA romance books back in Oxford as well as a hang-over from my childhood. Most of the books on my Kindle app are my SFF books, as they’re my style, setting and plot research reading. Also because they’re cheaper as Kindle books. 😛 But some, like the Parasol Protectorate Series (Gail Carriger) and Moro’s Price (MC Hana) are more than just a little romancy. 😉

If you want to do this tag, feel free to pass it on! 🙂

Thoughts, comments, replies...

