7 Quick Takes about Poeming, Photoshooting, and Bipartite Discussions

Ah, Friday. I remember you from last week. That had been so long and so paltry a time ago. Now, of course, it’s time for this week’s 7 Quick Takes, hosted by This Ain’t the Lyceum.

seven quick takes friday 2

#1. It’s funny how time changes, isn’t it? This time last year, I was practically petrified of everything and would never have asked a lecturer for source materials or tips. Today, I struck up a conversation with my Philosophy of Mind lecturer about the psychological problem of hemispatial neglect, which I am currently looking at in my Neuroscience module. Whilst I expected the bipartite degree to overlap, I never expected it to so directly.

#2. Speaking of which, you might have heard that the new term started. Eep. Expect my creativity productivity to decrease. I’ve already gained an essay, and next week is the start of Mini Project number two. It’s only a matter of months now before I start my final year project. Alas, the problems of university!

#3. Sometimes life gets the better of people, though, and one of my friends had to cancel her 21st party planned for tomorrow because she can’t make it up to Reading. Sadly, I’ve not seen her since she deferred her academic year for medical reasons, and, whilst I know she’s been recovering well, it’s still disheartening that I’m not going to be able to celebrate her birthday with her. Pray for her.

#4. In Chamber Choir, we’ve started the ambitious project of the Frank Martin Mass for double choir. I’m in the second choir (as a Soprano, of course), which gives me some of my lowest notes. Bizarrely, I can actually reach that low in my chest voice, but, boy, it’s not comfortable. Nevertheless, the sung Mass work is beautiful and ghostly. A piece of Heaven, one might say. If you want a nosy at the sound, YouTube has some good recordings (though, the whole piece is 27 minutes):

#5. I’ve been doing another over-elaborate photoshoot today with Lady Chronaire, as she gained a proper corset (yes, there are such things as fake corsets) with shiny shiny buttons today, and I spent a good time editing the rubbish auto quality of my laptop camera into photos that bore a little steampunk mystery to them.

AlexB_LadySChronaire_Explore2 AlexB_LadySChronaire_goggles

#6. Editing again this week. I’m making great progress with my January batch of writerly things, whilst also trying to hang out more with other writers on Twitter, Absolute Write, and their own blogs. I did, however, write a spontaneous poem in my own little way to combat the hail I encountered on my way home.

#7.

The day was crisp and low and kind of nice –
I took the scenic road,
Along the lake and
Where the mallards squawk.
Cold breeze engulfed my hands,
And only just numbed fingertips.
I wondered, purposed, beside the trees,
Whilst an ash-grey sky from invisible volcano smoked;
Before long, the plink and plonk
Of slow raindrops
Coated phone and face—
No, it was far too cold for rain.
Hailstones rebelled until
Safety I sought.
Yet, in that unsteady pace,
In that tumultuous sky,
I made my way home.

It’s kind of a love poem in its own little way: an apology for lamenting at the weather, but also one that cares for the nature around me. I had one of those wonderment moments where I just wanted to spend more time with God’s Creation. Not having the time, however, I simply took a different route back.

Don’t forget to catch up with everyone else! I’ll see you next week.

Thoughts, comments, replies...

