I Finished My Catechism Challenge…Now What?

Around the end of 2013, as I really entered my catechesis stage and began to inject faith not only into my life but to be my life, I decided I was going to read the Catechism of the Catholic Church from beginning to end, one or more paragraphs a day, no matter how long it would take. I’ve had some blips along the way (as have we all!), but I strove on reading when I could…and I stumbled on the Amen almost-prematurely.

I’ve given myself a few days for the inevitable to sink in around my academic work and blog planning (and the Tea Incident of destroying my laptop): I have no more Catechism challenge. No more daily routine. No more set plan through which to experience God.

Eep.

Firstly: Hooray! I completed what I set out to do! 

But I’m left with something of a hole in my plans.

It would be easy for me to say that I should present myself with a new challenge, something based around reading The Bible every day, perhaps, or going through the Sunday missal. To add something into the space where my Catechism challenge was. But I don’t think these as challenges would be beneficial.

Let me expound. Reading the Catechism on an (almost) daily basis massively strengthened my relationship with God. It’s not something that I’d want to revert to the way it was, even in the few years before I was confirmed. Yet, I don’t want to set myself a challenge; I don’t want to use that label when it comes to The Bible, the Most Sacred book, I still see the importance of daily prayer and time for God alone, but I don’t want to feel so guilty if I miss a day through not-remembering or a change of location. I think that is reducing it to a task-and-reward relationship— if one could even call that a relationship at all.

It’s not a question of what I should do, but how I should be living my life in a more Christian fashion. Only reading something would no longer be helpful to the way I live my life as a Christian; now I must further put into practise what I have been taught.

Thoughts, comments, replies...

