RSW 17/08/15

Apparently we are getting near to the end of Ready, Set, Write! This year, even though my summer lasts for another month and a half. That’s what I get for not having internet for over a month! Let’s have one last crack at our goals, before manuscripts and manicures next week.

How I did on last week’s goals.

> Do some exercise. I did some walking, fun running, and a 20-min dance workout.

> Write 2,000 words of Geeky Love WiP short. Hehe, I stupidly did not take a note of how many words I’d written last week, but I’m halfway through on wordcount the entire story, and I’m making progress definitely. I’m gonna tick this one off.

> Finish reading the two stories I’m almost at the end of (Inspector Morse, and Bride by Mistake) and choose a) a single Kindle book to keep reading (as opposed to swapping between them) and b) a print book to read. Done, not done, and done. If that makes sense.

> Write up one (non hop) blog post of the list I want to write. Nothing from the list, but I did get a post up that wasn’t a hop.

My goal(s) for this week.

  1. Write 2,000 words of the WiP short.
  2. Edit chapter two of H and get it to my critique partner.
  3. Critique chapter three of my CP’s new novel.
  4. Write up one (non hop) blog post of the list I want to write. Unlikely, but I can try some words of wisdom on Weds.
  5. Plan and trial at least three of my Steampunk outfits for Lincoln Asylum.

A favourite line from my story OR one word/phrase that sums up what I wrote/revised.

An array of beads and baubles decorated the first segment of the trestle table that stretched the entire back wall of the workshop. The middle segment had been claimed by tools, and I headed there. The third segment was Mom’s worktop, and she changed what lay there every day. Today she’d draped receipts, invoice, and bills on the top, as if she was making jewelry out of paper and not precious stones.

The biggest challenge I faced this week.

Time. I’m actually doing and reading a lot, so around the small things, I have some time ton write, but at least I’m getting engaged about writing again.

Something I love about my WiP.

I’m working on backstories, even when I’m not really including them. I’m getting to know what motivates my hero and heroine…I think.

*

2 thoughts on “RSW 17/08/15

  1. Love the detailed description in the excerpt you shared. I’m totally picturing the setting of your scene — well done! Awesome job knocking out your goals this week, and best of luck with your goals in the coming week. You’re rocking this summer, Alexandrina!

    1. (Forgot about this comment, sorry!) Aw, thanks, Katy! Scene-building is something I always find difficult in terms of balance. Ah, I haven’t done as well with my goals this year as last year, but we all have off-moments, eh?
      Good luck with your last goals for the summer. 🙂

Thoughts, comments, replies...

